Internship Diary # 12 – Maricar De Guzman

PROFILE:

Name:  Maricar de Guzman

Course: DPBPA / Batch 23

Branch: Pasig

Internship Venue: Pan Pacific Manila Hotel

“I must have no fear of failure. It was my fear of failure that first kept me from attempting the Master work. Now, I’m beginning what I could have started ten years ago. But I’m happy at least that I didn’t wait twenty years.” – The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho

In Maricar’s case it took her 7 years, she graduated BS HRIM year 2006. “I was discouraged from pursuing a career in the kitchen since I know in my heart that I don’t have adequate baking and pastry art skill so I set aside that dream and quickly grabbed the opportunity when a job offer as a Team coordinator came along.” After 6 years she quickly lost interest in her work.

“A great man once said that if you want to succeed in life, you must learn first not to lie to yourself.”

Excerpts from her Journal:

My internship took place at the Pan Pacific Manila where I am presently working, it was considered as a part of my cross training, my duty in the pastry kitchen is from 8am to 2pm because I still have to do my current job.

“It is like doing a double shift, it is hard but it’s all worth it.”

At the time that I started my internship the pastry chefs were struggling since they have not prepared a menu plan. Chefs just come up with whatever is available in the stocks and just play around with the fillings, sometimes they instruct me to do a particular dessert that is easy and fast to make and at times they would just tell me to do anything that I please. This was a big challenge for me because they trusted me to create desserts that will be served not just to anyone but to guests with highly discriminating taste.

The internship strengthened my desire to pursue a career in the pastry kitchen. I know I have lots of things that I need to learn, need to improve my plating and decorating skills. Armed with the knowledge learned from school and internship, I am confident now to apply for a job in the kitchen unlike 7 years ago.”

Scan Jan 15AM copy Scan1copy Scan2copy Scan3copy Scan4copy Scan5copy Scan6copy

Leave a Reply

