Epicurean Lab Chef Series: Chef Him Uy De Baron

Chef Him Uy De Baron, Chef & Owner of Nomama Restaurant in QC, conducted a demo in The Epicurean Lab last September 25 & 28. Everyone who went enjoyed Chef Him’s fun and informative class plus all attendees were able to eat A LOT of his food. I attended the first day because it’s been a while since I was last able to taste Chef Him’s cooking so I decided to go to be able to eat the food he was going to demo and cook.

For both days Chef Him used this menu:

1. Beef Tataki Tostada in Uni Butter – this beef was served raw. I am not a big fan of raw meat because this has to be prepared really well for people to pull it off. I was happy to say that it didn’t disappoint. The raw wagyu when mixed with the Uni butter that Chef Him made was good. I liked the creaminess of the uni butter together with the meat. I was pleasantly surprised about how much I ended up liking it that I was able to eat about 4 of these!

2. Tuna, Shrimp and Mussel Salad with Wasabi Guacamole, Ponzu and Pickled Watermelon – This was my favorite dish. Everything about it was perfect! The freshness of the seafood was amazing! The shrimp was melting inside my mouth. We were asked to combine the seafood with either the pickled watermelon for a bite then try it with the wasabi guacamole for the next bite. I loved both combinations. The wasabi in the guacamole gave it a wonderful kick and surprise once you’ve placed it in your mouth. This dish is what I often look for in restaurants because it was healthy and yet unbelievably flavorful.

3. Wagyu Beef Cheek Ramen – Nomama is a ramen place and this ramen is something that he will be launching this October so we were lucky to have been able to eat this even before its availability in his restaurant. When he showed us how he prepared the stock for this, I must say that I already knew it would be good (I will not tell you the details since it may literally cause you to have a heart attack). He pressurized the wagyu beef with asian herbs and spices to give it an “umami” flavor. The beef was so tender and tasty so this is a must for meat lovers out there. I’m pretty sure that the boys liked this dish the best! You have to go and try this in Nomama.

4. Coconut Pannacotta with Fresh Pineapple and Kaffir Salsa – This was a perfect way to end the meal because it was a light and refreshing dessert. A great way to counterbalance the heaviness of the ramen so that you’d end your meal on a sweet note.

Leave a Reply

